I've always been a bit of a weirdo magnet, I don't know what it is about me, something just seems to make the freaks, nut jobs and whackos of the free world gravitate towards me. I don't mean weirdo's in the sense of some people thinking themselves as weird or unique in a bid to look cool, for example Emo's are often bragging about being weirdos, well they're not, they're just socially inept fuck nuggets. There's a difference.
With the help of facebook and twitter, now I can attract virtual weirdos too. People following you and striking up conversation, and then jumping on you like a fly on shit as soon as you come online EVERY time you come online. You can't ignore them, ignoring does not work with these people. I tried it, and all I got was a barrage of tweets asking if I was annoyed or upset with the person. Well, not upset, just outright fucked off. You can't say that though, well I can't anyway, I'm a cyberwuss. So I chose to pip my trusty friend the Block button. As if by magic, calm and sanity was restored to my feed...well as sane as that ever gets, anyway. I thought that was the end. BUT NO. Said person then went on a huge rant about me on their page, about how I was arrogant and thought I was too good to talk to them, why did I hate them and could they "return the favour" by blocking me back. This made me laugh like hell, for one why bother blocking me when there is no chance in hell that I would ever unblock them? Why would I ever subject myself to striking up any kind of contact with them ever again? I was free damnit, I wasn't going back. If this was arrogant of me then so be it, but it is my Twitter, I will do with it what the fuck I like, talk to whomever the fuck I like, and block whomever I want to block.
The problem still stands though, that real life has no block button. The one that sticks out in my mind the most is the creep that kind of 'stalked' me for a while a few years ago. I first noticed him on my bus back from school, he used to stare. Constantly. Middle aged, glasses and balding, leering at me. At first I assumed it was a one off, and didn't think anything more of it. Until the next time he was on my bus, and it was exactly the same. Again, I was dismissive, I used to travel home with a lad from school who lived close by, so I never felt particularly threatened, just a bit disgusted. After it happened a few more times, my friend picked up on it one day and told me there was a "sick freak" staring at me. I'd been doing my best to ignore him, and tried not to check my bus to see if he was there, but I wasn't surprised at all to hear he was, he was practically every day at that point.
I told my sister about it one day when we seen him out in town, she reminded me about him a couple of weeks ago when we were talking about local crazies. He kept popping up pretty much everywhere I was for months, not just the bus home. He was on my bus morning and night, and I would see him in the village where he would physically stop and stand still and leer at me. One day in the summer, I had just left school and I was in the bus station near where I live. In he came, and hovered around close by. It seemed like he was there for ages but it would have only been a couple of minutes. Same as usual, just standing still looking at me. I kept my head tuned away but could see him in my peripheral the whole time. I felt a bit claustrophobic, even though there was only about 5 people in there. I persevered in ignoring him, until he strode over, hands in his pockets and smiled this god awful smile, one of the creepiest things I have ever seen, looking down at me with those pervy leery eyes and he uttered the only sentence he ever said to me. It wasn't threatening, or outright perverse. "I see you alot. You're a
schoolgirl aren't you?" And I kid you not as he drawled the word schoolgirl he actually licked his lips. Evidently I wasn't the only person who thought this was a bit fucking weird, as the young lad close by in his white tracksuit and knock off Nike Air trainers stepped in front of him and kindly told him if he didn't get away from me, he would knock him the fuck out. Never have I felt such affection towards a chav, and doubt I ever will again, it was a strange phenomena.
Fortunately since then, my run in with the wackos have been brief, although still fucking regular. There was the druggy who talks to himself, asking me to pass him his pills off the floor, the girl who sat next to me on the bus and told me her name address and life history, invited me to her house and then said she wanted to be my best friend, among countless others. And lets not miss out the wanker who was groaning like a perv watching me eat a chocolate eclair. The most recent example is probably the other day, out with friends to celebrate a birthday. It had been a pretty nutty week, I had a few minor run ins with crazies last week, thanks mainly to the psycho-assessments going on here, and once again, merry old public transport. Anyway, back to Saturday night. I am used to the pervs on nights out, they affect everyone, we just shrug them off and escape. There have been some spectacular ones, there was the pissed little chav who kept grabbing my arse and trying to hug and kiss me, in front of my other half. The guy who was trying to chat me up with dried blue drool on his chin from his bottle of WKD (manly) the ginger bloke who looked older than my dad who simply opened with the line "howay love bring yasel owarere" with a wink, and my personal favourite chat up line from a drunken teenager "Wheres the nearest Premier Inn because I think I'm in love with you." None of these people were what I would class as nutjobs, but they do fall quite nicely into the creep/weirdo/perv category.
Saturday was no exception to the rule of perv, and within minutes of stepping into the streets of the town, we were accosted by a group of men out on the pull. I should point out that we were categorically not on the pull, as all of us are pleasantly bound to a better half. But anywho, back to the story... Me and another friend were bringing up the rear, as the two with the most ridiculous shoes on. The resounding thought for the night was WHY THE FUCK IS THIS TOWN SO COBBLED? So as my friend pottered like Bambi up the giant hill of wayward uneven rockage, the group of said men noticed her struggling, one kindly put her on the flat path, swapping his place to join me on the ankle-breaking floor of doom. I don't mean to brag, but I walk damn well in heels (up until about 6 hours into a night when I have to abandon them due to FireFeet, that horrible burning pain where it actually surprises you that the skin isn't ripped apart and bleeding) one of the men noticed my marvellous efficiency, and somehow worked out it was down to "those fucking legs!" My friend, now on the level path, was closing the distance between herself and the rest of our group, the other OnThePullMen having dispersed to somewhere further up the road, I think they stopped off to piss some-where. She powered on, getting further and further away, I literally would have had to get a jog on to catch up. Naturally, the only bloke from the group that was left, the one who had so nicely popped my mate onto the flat path, had limpeted onto me (figuratively speaking, fortunately he didn't actually attempt physical contact.)
Making conversation in the typical way of a man who is half cut desperately searching for a shag, I tried to quicken my pace. We were approaching the top of the hill, and I was trying to fob him off with as curt responses to him as possible. The hill was getting steeper, and he made another comment about my FuckingLegs, and I turned and looked at him properly for the first time, he was well dressed, in those trendy jeans and a nice shirt, he had a skinhead and was probably in his mid twenties. That was when I thought "Fuck it" and started to jog, as best as one can up a miniature mountain in 7 inch heels. Catching up to my group I breathlessly shouted "Thanks for that!" at my mates. Seemingly they thought I was still quite close to the group, and that the group of men looked generally to be "alright" anyway. (Their opinion was changed when said group of men appeared everywhere we went, FuckingLeg comments aplenty). I asked if they had actually looked at the one who had taken a fancy to me and they admitted they hadn't, but, like they said, on the whole, the group looked "alright". To which I responded "HE HAD A FUCKING TATTOO DOWN THE WHOLE SIDE OF HIS FACE."